Soul Power: Tribute to Tower of Power

Tower of Power hits with a Funk and R&B spin.

Soul Power consists of Tommy Banks as lead vocals, Ian Wilson on tenor sax, Glenn Appell on trumpet, Robert Todd on baritone sax, Patrick Malabuyo on trombone, Rick Bailey on drums, Peter Fujii on guitar, Loren Linnard on keys, Scott Willson on bass, Don Beck on trumpet, and Rich Martin on guitar.

Collectively they have played with musicians like Bruce Conte, Lee Oskar, The Temptations, Bobby Freeman, and Linda Ronstadt. In an interview, Tommy said his vocal development was due to his mother. “My mama used to listen to those old 78s…I heard Big Momma Thorton, Bobby “Blue” Bland, Muddy Waters, Ray Otis, Sam Cooke. If [she] liked a song she would play it over and over, that’s how I learned to listen to every nuance of a singer’s performance.”